Give to show your commitment to

excellent writing and desert ecosystems. 

You can also mail a check to Waterston Desert Writing Prize, P.O. Box 640, Bend, OR 97709.

The Waterston Desert Writing Prize is a small nonprofit. We rely on the generosity of supporters such as you to help keep excellent writing and awareness of the desert ecosystem at the forefront regionally and around the world. Please show your commitment to excellent writing and desert ecosystems with a generous donation. Waterston Desert Writing Prize is a 501 (c) (3) nonprofit organization. Contributions are deductible to the extent allowed by law.

Thank you valued donors!

Our Endowment and the

Oregon Community Foundation

The Prize is funded from an endowment managed by the Oregon Community Foundation. The endowment was established by actor Sam Waterston, after whom the prize is named. As the endowment for the prize grows, so will the annual prize amount.

With major support from:

Great Basin Circle Donors

Thank You Donors!

Donations Received Fiscal Year 2019-2020


Anonymous Donor

Randall Barna

Bowtie Catering

Jennifer Delahunty-Britz

Ted Haynes

Sue and Michael Hollern

Bruce Jackson

William Kinsey

Joan Kinsey

Kathy Lawrence

The Roundhouse Foundation

Jacqueline Thea

Jeff Tryens


Dixie Eckford

Cheri Helfenstein

Bruce Jackson

Karen Stanard

Lorraine Stuart

Suzanne Staples

Helen Vandervort


($5,000 - $20,000)

GR Ranch

Charles McGrath​

Samuel & Lynn Waterston
Charitable Gift Fund

Waterston Communications


($1,000 - $4,999)

Julia Kennedy Cochran

Deschutes County Discretionary
Grant Fund

Louise Hawker/Watermark Communications

The Helen Foundation

High Desert Museum

Gail & Ron Hill

Stacie Mallo

James F. & Marion L. Miller Foundation



Twin Bridges Farm

Writing Ranch​​






($500 - $999)

Brinich & Bertalan LLP

Bart Eberwein

Les Joslin

Dick & Suzie Linford

Trish & Bill Smith

Ellen Waterston



($100 - $499)

David W. Britton

Jim Cornelius

Molly and Ron Foerster

Dawn Forgerson

Ted Haynes

Robin Holm

William Kinsey

Steven Rothert

Jeff Tryens

William Tweed

Ann Witsil

Jennifer Delahunty-Britz

Sue & Mike Hollern




($1- $99)

James Anderson

Carolyn Hanson

Kathy Lawrence

Nancy Park

Lesley Peters